Me

I did something similar to this on my old blog and since I never got around to moving all that stuff over here, I have an excuse to do an all about me post...

Birthdate: January 2, 1970

Place of Birth: Hunter Air Base Army Hospital, Savannah, Georgia

Given Name:
Gregory William Armstrong (Mom and Dad liked the name Greg and William was my Dad's middle name)

Current Name: Kelly Joann Armstrong (That was the name that Mom and Dad had picked out along with the given one. Mom and Dad liked the name Kelly and Joann was my aunts middle name. Taking it was the least I could do.)

High School: Countryside High School in Clearwater, Florida. Class of 1988.

College: University of Kentucky in Lexington. Class of 1992 with a degree in History.

Graduate School: University of Louisville in Louisville. Class or 2003 with a Masters Degree in Special Education, Moderate and Severe Disabilities with a Rank I in Autism and Assistive Technology. Graduated first in my class.

Career: Special Education Teacher in a Functional Mental Disabilities Class. Next year will be my 10th year of teaching.

Places I've Lived: Savannah, Manhattan Kansas, Petersburg Virginia, Anchorage Alaska, Colorado Springs, Colorado, Louisville Kentucky, Clearwater Florida, Lexington Kentucky, Louisville again, Snowshoe West Virginia and Louisville again.

Best Place I've Ever Lived:
Snowshoe, West Virginia. Located 4848 feet on top of Cheat Mountain, I worked at The Red Fox, one of the nations finest restaurants. I averaged about 100 days a winter on the slopes. As much as I loved the skiing and winter, summer was in many ways the best part of living there. The crowds were gone and the weather was always nice and cool.

States I've Been To:
Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas, Tennessee, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New York, Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, Utah, Idaho, Washington and Alaska.

Five States I'd Most Like To Visit That I Haven't:
Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Montana and California

International Places I've Been:
London and other parts of England, Toronto, Windsor Canada, Calgary and Banff.

Five International Cities I'd Like To Visit That I Haven't:
Melbourne, Hong Kong, Moscow, Tokyo and Vancouver

Airports I've Flown In or Out Of:
Louisville, Lexington, Atlanta, St. Pete/Clearwater, Tampa, Charlotte, Greensboro, Raleigh/Durham, Washington Dulles, New York Laguardia, Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Detroit, Chicago O'Hare, Chicago Midway, St. Louis, Seattle, Anchorage, Calgary, Toronto and London Gatwick.

Subways/Metros I've Been On: New York, Washington, Atlanta, Chicago and London.

Mountains or Beaches:
Mountains

East Coast or West Coast:
East Coast of course.

Winter or Summer:
Winter

Snow or Sun: Snow

Five Ski Resorts I Most Want To Ski:
Mad River Glen in Vermont, Whistler/Blackcomb in British Columbia, Jackson Hole in Wyoming, Crested Butte in Colorado and Big Sky in Montana.

Five Quirks I Have:
I always sleep with one leg out from under the cover, I always shave my right leg first and my left underarm first, I put my right shoe on first but tie my left shoe first, I put mascara on my left eyelash first and I always taste my side dishes before the entree.

PC or Mac:
Mac of course.

Favorite Television Show:
Now that Lost is finished, I'd have to say that my new favorite is The Big Bang Theory.

Favorite Radio Station: 91.9 WFPK, one of the three public radio stations in town.

Favorite Book:
1984 by George Orwell. It's truly frightening.

Favorite Movie: Impossible to pick just one but any top five list, no matter the day I'm doing it, would include Blade Runner.

Religious:
Ah, No, not in the least.

Favorite Thing in Life:
Dogs of course. No truer love exists than that of the dog for it's owner.

Craziest Thing I've Ever Done: On a whim, I quit my job, put just about everything I owned in storage, loaded up my car and moved to the mountains.

Strange Fact:
I once had a one night fling with a girl who was a week away from her wedding. At the time, I didn't know she was getting married in a week, but it wouldn't have mattered. I wasn't the one cheating.

Strange Fact 2:
I wasn't able to quit sucking my thumb till my mid 30's.

Strange Fact 3:
While living in West Virginia, I came face to face with black bears, bobcats and coyotes and was never scared. A mouse runs in front of me and I scream like a teenage girl out of fear.

Greatest Fear: The very real possibility that I will one day be the last living member of my family and thus be all alone.

Greatest Hope:
That when I die, someone will say that I did good, that the world is a better place because I was once here.

Final Resting Place: I've let it be known that when I die, I want to be cremated and have my ashes mixed with those of my three beloved dogs (Sammy, River and Shadow) where we will be scattered at Dolly Sods, West Virginia atop Cabin Mountain.

3 comments:

trnslate | July 8, 2010 at 1:28 AM

Wow Kelly, I'm not so sure that I could let it all hang out there about my past like that post-transition. As I've been transitioning and now am pretty much presenting Keri cept for work and my son, and I have friends who know me only as Keri (way cool btw....), I have enough problems figuring what to say about my past given certain social situations as it is lol.... So kudos!

~Keri

Kelly | July 8, 2010 at 10:50 PM

Hi Keri,

Well, I can't deny my past and there were a lot of really great things that happened to me back then. Also, it's no big secret that I was once Greg, it's not like I come close to being stealth, so no sense in hiding.

Leslie Ann | July 11, 2010 at 4:29 AM

Hi, Kelly. Been reading you for awhile, but we have much more in common than I knew. For one, we might have crossed paths at UK. I was taking poli sci and history classes around that time.

Public Radio, two kids on the autism spectrum, Lost, Blade Runner, just say no to religion. I suppose with a list as long as yours, there's bound to be some crossover. Still...